Academic writing assistant
Paperpal pricing and free plan (2026)
An academic writing assistant for grammar, paraphrasing, citations and pre-submission checks, working inside Word, Google Docs and the browser.
Quick verdict
- Best for
- Researchers polishing a manuscript who want language and tone suggestions inside Word or Google Docs.
- Skip if
- You mainly need to find and screen papers for a literature review. Paperpal's search is one feature among many, and other tools in our literature review guide are built for that job.
- Price from
- Billed monthly: not verified; from $6/mo (Prime) billed annually. USD per month; see the pricing table below.
- Free plan limits
- 200 grammar edits per month; Lite plagiarism check; 5 uses per day each for Paraphrase, Trim, Translate and AI Review; chat with 5 files per month; 300 MB library.
- Last checked
- 5 October 2026
Best for
- Researchers polishing a manuscript who want language and tone suggestions inside Word or Google Docs.
- Authors who want a pre-submission check and citation help in one writing tool.
Not a fit if
- You mainly need to find and screen papers for a literature review. Paperpal's search is one feature among many, and other tools in our literature review guide are built for that job.
- You need to know the month-by-month price. The pricing page showed annual and multi-year prices only when we read it; the billed monthly price is not verified.
- You want to rely on a promotional price. The page shows struck-through higher prices and does not state when the current price ends.
Paperpal is built for the writing stage of research, not for the search stage. According to its homepage, it offers grammar and tone suggestions, an AI paraphraser, citation generation, a plagiarism check, AI-content detection, a literature search, and checks against journal requirements. It runs in Microsoft Word, Google Docs, Chrome and Overleaf.
That breadth is the main reason to look at it: one subscription covers several small jobs. The trade-off is that each feature is one part of a larger product, so if your main need is a systematic literature review, start with the literature review guide. To see how the Free plan compares with others, read the free plans comparison.
On pricing, the page showed Prime at $6 per month billed annually and Pro at $14.50 per month billed annually, each next to a higher struck-through figure ($12 and $29). We do not know how long the lower prices last. The billed monthly price was not displayed, so it is marked not verified.
Everything here comes from the vendor’s pages, listed under Sources. Nobody has run the tool in real work for this profile.
Pricing and free plan
| Plan | Price per month | Billing | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free | Free | Free | 200 grammar edits per month; Lite plagiarism check; 5 uses per day each for Paraphrase, Trim, Translate and AI Review; chat with 5 files per month; 300 MB library. |
| Prime | $6 | Billed annually | The page shows $6 per month with a struck-through $12 next to it, which looks like a regular price with a current promotion; the end date is not stated. The page also mentions an annual plan of $72. Includes 20k edits per month, 10k words of plagiarism check per month, 25k words of AI detection per month, 10k words of Reference Check, 500 uses of Paraphrase and similar tools per month, chat with 150 files per month, 2 GB storage. |
| Prime | Not verified (5 October 2026) | Not verified | The billed monthly price was not shown on the pricing page when read. An older, undated help-center article lists Prime at $25 per month and $144 per year; that is not used here as a current price. |
| Prime, 2-year plan | $4.75 | One-time payment of $114 for 2 years | The page shows $229 struck through. About $4.75 per month as an equivalent, worked out from the one-time price. Does not renew automatically. |
| Prime, 3-year plan | $4 | One-time payment of $144 for 3 years | The page shows $289 struck through. About $4 per month as an equivalent, worked out from the one-time price. Does not renew automatically. |
| Pro | $14.50 | Billed annually | The page shows $14.50 per month with a struck-through $29 next to it; the end date of the lower price is not stated. Unlimited edits and AI detection; 30k words of plagiarism check and of Reference Check; chat with 500 files per month; 10 GB storage. |
| Pro | Not verified (5 October 2026) | Not verified | The billed monthly price was not shown on the pricing page when read. |
What looks good
- Covers several steps in one place: grammar and tone, paraphrasing, citation help, a plagiarism check and a pre-submission check, according to the homepage.
- Works as add-ins and extensions for Word, Google Docs, Chrome and Overleaf, according to the homepage.
- A Free plan with listed limits, so you can try it before paying.
- The pricing page lists a 100% money-back guarantee, cancel-anytime terms and the option to pause a plan.
Limits and open questions
- The prices shown are annual-billing or one-time prices, and the page shows higher struck-through prices next to the current ones. Confirm the price at checkout.
- The billed monthly price for Prime and Pro is not verified.
- Feature counts on the homepage (citation styles, journal checks, sources scanned) are vendor claims that we have not tested.
- The Free plan caps grammar edits at 200 per month and the Paraphrase, Trim, Translate and AI Review tools at 5 uses per day each.
Hands-on testing
Not yet done. Nobody here has run this tool in real work, so this page is based on the vendor's published pages only, listed under Sources. Notes will be added if that changes.
Affiliate status
This site has no affiliate relationship with this tool at present. The link on this page goes to the official site and earns nothing. See the disclosure.
FAQ
Is Paperpal free?
There is a Free plan. As listed on 2026-10-05 it includes 200 grammar edits per month, a Lite plagiarism check, 5 uses per day each of Paraphrase, Trim, Translate and AI Review, chat with 5 files per month and a 300 MB library.
How much does Paperpal Prime cost?
The pricing page showed $6 per month billed annually, with $12 struck through next to it. The billed monthly price was not shown. Multi-year options were listed as a one-time $114 for 2 years and $144 for 3 years.
How much does Paperpal Pro cost?
The pricing page showed $14.50 per month billed annually, with $29 struck through next to it. The billed monthly price was not shown.
Why do other sites list different Paperpal prices?
An older, undated help-center article lists Prime at $25 per month and $144 per year, and the current page shows lower prices with higher struck-through ones. We use only what the pricing page showed on 2026-10-05, and label the billing method.
Does Paperpal write the paper for me?
The vendor describes it as a tool that improves your writing and prepares manuscripts for submission. Check your institution's and your target journal's rules on AI tools before you use it.
Can I trust the citations it generates?
Treat any generated citation as a draft. Compare it with the publisher's page and your style guide. Our citation checking guide shows a five-minute routine.
Related guides
Related tools
- Jenni AI
AI academic writing editorA writing editor for academic text with source-grounded suggestions, citations, and chat across the PDFs you upload.
- Consensus
AI academic searchAn AI search engine over peer-reviewed papers that returns synthesized answers with links to the studies behind them.
- ResearchCollab
AI research workspaceAn AI research workspace that maps a topic, supports literature review steps such as PRISMA flow diagrams, and links claims to source paragraphs.